We use performance cookies to collect information about how you use our website (for instance which pages you visit most often). Cookies help us to improve your online experience with Aspen. Find out more here

close

Aspen Opinion

Food for Thought

Food for Thought

As China expands PPP agri-insurance for small farmers, large agri-business requires more vertically integrated (re)insurance

Tsunami Risk: the Coastal Region of the China Seas

Tsunami Risk: the Coastal Region of the China Seas

While advances in probabilistic tsunami hazard assessment have been welcome, scientists still have many challenges to overcome.

More Than the Sum of the Parts

More Than the Sum of the Parts

The relationship between underwriter and actuary can create natural tension but it’s vital that (re)insurers harness the strengths...

Shifting Shale: Looking at Energy Market Dynamics

Shifting Shale: Looking at Energy Market Dynamics

Understanding the shifting dynamics of the energy market prompted by the “shale revolution” is becoming increasingly important.

prev
next

At Aspen, we apply intelligence, experience and insight to every part of our business.

It is this intelligence and insight that allows us not only to deliver exceptional solutions for our clients but also to form perceptive opinions on issues impacting our industry. We like to share our forward-thinking approach and invite robust debate and present here our Aspen Opinions written by our market-leading experts.

Displaying 1-16 of 40

Food for Thought

October 22, 2014

As China expands PPP agri-insurance schemes for small-holding farmers, large agri-businesses will require more vertically integrated (re)insurance products.

Tsunami Risk: the Coastal Region of the China Sea

Oct 8, 2014

While the advances made in probabilistic tsunami hazard assessment have been welcome progress, earth scientists still have many challenges to overcome.

More Than the Sum of the Parts

September 30, 2014

The relationship between underwriter and actuary can create natural tension but harnessing the strengths of each is vital to survive in the changing risk environment

Shifting Shale: Looking at Energy Market Dynamics

July 8, 2014

Understanding the shifting dynamics of the energy market prompted by the "shale revolution" is becoming increasingly important.

Changing Claims Climate in the UK

June 2, 2014

Have recent legal reforms and changes in UK health and safety law created competitive advantages for proactive insurers who have embraced the changes?

Sporting Growth

May 12, 2014

How might the 2014 World Cup and 2016 Olympic Games in Brazil drive reinsurance opportunities in South America?

All Aboard!

March 26, 2014

Significant investment has been made by the North American rail industry to improve safety but what should underwriters consider when assessing risk?

Meeting Our Clients' Needs?

March 19, 2014

As we focus on reducing insurance costs, are we still meeting our SME clients' needs?

Technology in (Re)Insurance

February 26, 2014

IT is now center stage in (re)insurance and enhanced data provision provides real competitive advantages.

Flood Risk in the Oil & Gas Industry

January 15, 2014

We review the oil and gas industry's flood risk and the potential for environmental losses following catastrophic storms.

It's the Economy...

December 20, 2013

What are likely to be some of the key economic challenges in 2014?

Here to Stay

December 12, 2013

The portrayal of third party capital entering the property cat market as temporary is misguided.

Tornadoes: loss volatility and risk communication

November 22, 2013

Why are losses from severe convective storms so volatile?

Aviation: Soft State

Sept 6, 2013

Is the aviation insurance market headed for a perpetual soft state?

Data Protection: Well Grounded in Legislation

August 22, 2013

How have changes in legislation driven the market for data protection indemnity insurance?

The Vandals and the Handles

July 30, 2013

Does the convergence market represent a paradigm shift in the property catastrophe market?

Our lines of business

We are a diversified, well-capitalised and strongly rated company, providing a number of carefully tailored underwriting solutions in select, typically high value-added markets. For more information on the products and services we offer, take a look at our insurance and reinsurance lines.

Strong leadership

Our business is underpinned by strong leadership. Find out more about the experts who make up our Executive Committee.