We use performance cookies to collect information about how you use our website (for instance which pages you visit most often). Cookies help us to improve your online experience with Aspen. Find out more here

close

Aspen Opinion

All Aboard!

All Aboard!

Given recent efforts to improve safety, what should underwriters consider when assessing North American rail industry risks?

Meeting Our Clients' Needs?

Meeting Our Clients' Needs?

Is the insurance industry doing enough to educate our SME customers about the benefits of robust risk management?

More Than Just a Helping Hand - Technology in (Re)Insurance

More Than Just a Helping Hand - Technology in (Re)Insurance

IT is now center stage in (re)insurance and enhanced data provision provides real competitive advantages.

Environmental Exposure: Flood Risk in the Oil and Gas industry

Environmental Exposure: Flood Risk in the Oil and Gas industry

We review the oil and gas industry's flood risk and the potential for environmental losses following catastrophic storms.

prev
next

At Aspen, we apply intelligence, experience and insight to every part of our business.

It is this intelligence and insight that allows us not only to deliver exceptional solutions for our clients but also to form perceptive opinions on issues impacting our industry. We like to share our forward-thinking approach and invite robust debate and present here our Aspen Opinions written by our market-leading experts.

Displaying 1-16 of 34

All Aboard!

March 26, 2014

Significant investment has been made by the North American rail industry to improve safety but what should underwriters consider when assessing risk?

Meeting Our Clients' Needs?

March 19, 2014

As we focus on reducing insurance costs, are we still meeting our SME clients' needs?

Technology in (Re)Insurance

February 26, 2014

IT is now center stage in (re)insurance and enhanced data provision provides real competitive advantages.

Flood Risk in the Oil & Gas Industry

January 15, 2014

We review the oil and gas industry's flood risk and the potential for environmental losses following catastrophic storms.

It's the Economy...

December 20, 2013

What are likely to be some of the key economic challenges in 2014?

Here to Stay

December 12, 2013

The portrayal of third party capital entering the property cat market as temporary is misguided.

Tornadoes: loss volatility and risk communication

November 22, 2013

Why are losses from severe convective storms so volatile?

Aviation: Soft State

Sept 6, 2013

Is the aviation insurance market headed for a perpetual soft state?

Data Protection: Well Grounded in Legislation

August 22, 2013

How have changes in legislation driven the market for data protection indemnity insurance?

The Vandals and the Handles

July 30, 2013

Does the convergence market represent a paradigm shift in the property catastrophe market?

BI Insurance: Does what is says on the tin?

June 12, 2013

What are the challenges when selecting BI cover in an increasingly complex global economy?

Stress state in Japan two years on

July 1, 2013

Has Japan's 2011 Tohoku earthquake increased the likelihood of earthquakes in the region?

A Different Type of Model Update

May 9, 2013

How is the underwriting process being affected as catastrophe model vendors embrace open modelling?

Professional Indemnity: Commoditization & Catastrophes

April 3, 2013

The Professional Indemnity market has been transformed since the mid-1990's, but are the biggest pricing levers still pulled by short-tail catastrophes?

Qatar, 2022 and Beyond: Expect Amazing

March 11, 2013

Peter Emblin, Managing Director Latin America and Middle East & Africa, and Abdallah Balbeisi, Head of Middle East & North Africa, Aspen Re, describe some of the cha...

What Was So Special About Sandy?

January 9, 2013

Jan Kleinn, Head of Catastrophe Research and Development, Aspen Re, confirms that categorisation of storms by headline wind speed can be misleading for the (re)insur...

Our lines of business

We are a diversified, well-capitalised and strongly rated company, providing a number of carefully tailored underwriting solutions in select, typically high value-added markets. For more information on the products and services we offer, take a look at our insurance and reinsurance lines.

Strong leadership

Our business is underpinned by strong leadership. Find out more about the experts who make up our Executive Committee.