We use performance cookies to collect information about how you use our website (for instance which pages you visit most often). Cookies help us to improve your online experience with Aspen. Find out more here

close

Aspen Opinion

Telematics: A Revolutionary Road

Telematics: A Revolutionary Road

Advances in telematics are disrupting many industries. What are the challenges and opportunities for (re)insurers?

Emerging Market Cat Risks - Through Multiple Lenses

Emerging Market Cat Risks - Through Multiple Lenses

Significant uncertainties in cat risk assessment are caused by limited data but what are the dangers of a "one size fits all" mind...

Energy Transition: Aging Networks and New Exposures

Energy Transition: Aging Networks and New Exposures

Renewable energy is bringing challenges to the aging UK grid network, but also to the (re)insurance industry.

prev
next

At Aspen, we apply intelligence, experience and insight to every part of our business.

It is this intelligence and insight that allows us not only to deliver exceptional solutions for our clients but also to form perceptive opinions on issues impacting our industry. We like to share our forward-thinking approach and invite robust debate and present here our Aspen Opinions written by our market-leading experts.

Displaying 1-16 of 50

Telematics: A Revolutionary Road

February 5, 2016

Advances in technology are disrupting many industries. We look at the growth of telematics and the challenges and opportunities for (re)insurers.

Emerging Market Cat Risks - Through Multiple Lenses

January 11, 2016

Significant uncertainties in cat risk assessment are caused by limited data but what are the dangers of a "one size fits all" mind-set?

Energy Transition: Aging Networks & New Exposures

December 7, 2015

Renewable energy is bringing challenges to the aging UK grid network, but also to the (re)insurance industry.

US Tornadoes and Hail

October 28, 2015

Dr. Giovanni Leoncini, Aspen Re’s storm risk scientist, discusses the current challenges of increasing volatility, seasonal predictability relating to El Niño and to...

Gender Diversity

September 8, 2015

The business case for gender diversity is still not appreciated despite the wealth of research in support of the business case.

One Size Does Not Necessarily Fit All

June 30, 2015

Michael Toppi, Chief Surety Underwriter for Aspen U.S. Insurance, cautions against painting all exploration and production companies with the same brush following th...

Hurricanes and Randomness

May 27, 2015

With no major hurricane making U.S. landfall in the last nine years, what's the likelihood of such a break occurring by chance?

Cyber Insurance - An Emerging Market

April 1, 2015

Data protection insurance is responding to some of the most pressing threats to organizations and there are opportunities for disciplined underwriters.

Differentiation through Engineering Expertise

March 3, 2015

Tony Carroll, Executive Vice President and Neil Cochenour, Vice President of Aspen Insurance Onshore Energy & Construction, emphasize the benefits of combining detai...

In Tune With Demand

October 30, 2014

Asia-Pacific has strong growth, low insurance penetration and increasing risk awareness. Will these factors ensure success in its (re)insurance sector?

Food for Thought

October 22, 2014

As China expands PPP agri-insurance schemes for small-holding farmers, large agri-businesses will require more vertically integrated (re)insurance products.

Tsunami Risk: the Coastal Region of the China Sea

Oct 8, 2014

While the advances made in probabilistic tsunami hazard assessment have been welcome progress, earth scientists still have many challenges to overcome.

More Than the Sum of the Parts

September 30, 2014

The relationship between underwriter and actuary can create natural tension but harnessing the strengths of each is vital to survive in the changing risk environment

Shifting Shale: Looking at Energy Market Dynamics

July 8, 2014

Understanding the shifting dynamics of the energy market prompted by the "shale revolution" is becoming increasingly important.

Changing Claims Climate in the UK

June 2, 2014

Have recent legal reforms and changes in UK health and safety law created competitive advantages for proactive insurers who have embraced the changes?

Sporting Growth

May 12, 2014

How might the 2014 World Cup and 2016 Olympic Games in Brazil drive reinsurance opportunities in South America?

Our lines of business

We are a diversified, well-capitalised and strongly rated company, providing a number of carefully tailored underwriting solutions in select, typically high value-added markets. For more information on the products and services we offer, take a look at our insurance and reinsurance lines.

Strong leadership

Our business is underpinned by strong leadership. Find out more about the experts who make up our Executive Committee.